Shopping Cart
You have a pre-order in your cart. Please note that ALL items included in your order will ship when the pre-order is released. If you wish to have a partial order shipped, you will need to make two separate orders.
The Lonesome Crowded West

The Lonesome Crowded West

Modest Mouse

Released: 11/04/2014

Catalog #: GP009

  • CD $ 12.00
  • Vinyl $ 24.00
  • MP3 Download $ 9.00

Singer/guitarist Isaac Brock is obsessed with the creeping of suburbia into the last rustic regions of the American West. His songs are full of seedy characters who live at the edge of this shrinking frontier — truck drivers, mobile-home dwellers, Greyhound bus travelers and even a mean old gambler named Cowboy Dan who gets drunk and tries to shoot God out of the sky with his rifle. In “Teeth Like God’s Shoeshine,” Brock bitterly rhapsodizes about a day when nature will take back the ‘burbs for good: “The malls are the soon-to-be ghost towns/So long, farewell, goodbye.” And in “Trailer Trash,” his vengeful rasp turns almost tender as he contemplates a life hemmed in by bad luck and bad decisions: “Short love with a long divorce/And a couple of kids, of course.”

It’s a barsh, romantic vision of the West, closer to a Richard Ford story than to the self-referential musings of most indie rockers. And at a time when American guitar rock is so desperately lacking imagination, the feisty songs of The Lonesome Crowded West are a sign that some real vitality can still be squeezed from the post-punk mold.- Jason Fine of Rollingstone

1. Teeth Like God's Shoeshine

2. Heart Cooks Brain

3. Convenient Parking

4. Lounge(Closing Time)

5. Jusus Christ Was an Only Child

6. Doin' the Cockroach

7. Cowboy Dan

8. Trailer Trash

9. Out of Gas

10. Long Distance Drunk

11. Shit Luck

12. Truckers Atlas

13. Polar Opposites

14. Bankrupt on Selling

15. Styrofoam Boots/ It's All Nice on Ice, Alright