Shopping Cart
You have a pre-order in your cart. Please note that ALL items included in your order will ship when the pre-order is released. If you wish to have a partial order shipped, you will need to make two separate orders.
Subliminal Plastic Motives

Subliminal Plastic Motives


Released: 01/14/2014

Catalog #: FP1420

  • CD $ 12.00
  • Vinyl $ 19.00
  • MP3 Download $ 9.00

Self's debut album is an impressive home-brewed amalgamation of crunchy post-grunge guitars, unusual samples, and cotton candy pop vocals. Imagine Nirvana's chord progressions overlaid with Jellyfish-type vocal harmonies, all processed through Beck's idiosyncratic, sample-based production aesthetic, and you've got an idea of what you're in for. The core of Self is Matt Mahaffey, a self-contained singer/songwriter/instrumentalist/producer who obviously has a voracious appetite for many styles of music including power pop, hip-hop, even jazz. The results are surprisingly coherent and thoroughly enjoyable on Subliminal Plastic Motives, an overlooked album. - Andy Hinds 4/5

1. Borateen 

2. Sophomore Jinx  

3. Stewardess 

4. So Low 

5. Marathon Shirt 

6. Lucid Anne 

7. Cannon 

8. Missed The Friction 

9. Superstar  

10. Mother Nature's Fault 

11. Big Important Nothing 

12. Lost My Senses