Shopping Cart
You have a pre-order in your cart. Please note that ALL items included in your order will ship when the pre-order is released. If you wish to have a partial order shipped, you will need to make two separate orders.
Takes One to Know One

Takes One to Know One

Elmo Williams & Hezekiah Early

Released: 02/24/1998

Catalog #: FP80313

  • CD $ 12.00
  • Vinyl $ 17.00
  • MP3 Download $ 9.00

This album contains some of the noisiest and most unapologetically down-home blues recorded in the post-war era. Hezekiah Early and Elmo Williams are both semi-professional musicians, but both play and sing as if their life depended on it, with force and power. The blues this duo plays are decidedly modern (even post-modern), and would appeal to any fan of Sonic Youth's white noise rock and Captain Beefheart's Dadaesque R&B. Williams' guitar on "Hoopin' and Hollern'" sounds like it was played through a completely fired amp, and Early's harp on "Insane Instrumental" sounds like a trucker grinding gears. But that doesn't mean the duo can't conjure up some soul. William's gospel-ish "Let It All Go" closes the album.- John Duffy


1. Mother's Dead

2. Insane Instrumental

3. Blue Jumped the Rabbit

4. Booster

5. Nothin' Man

6. Hoopin' and Hollerin'

7. Been Here and Gone

8. Natchez Fire

9. Do Your Thing

10. Let It All Go

Purchase and receive an instant download.