Shopping Cart
You have a pre-order in your cart. Please note that ALL items included in your order will ship when the pre-order is released. If you wish to have a partial order shipped, you will need to make two separate orders.
Hill Country Blues

Hill Country Blues

Ranie Burnette

Released: 11/05/2015

Catalog #: BLM0271

  • Vinyl $ 19.00
  • MP3 Download $ 9.00

Ranie Burnette was born on July 4th, 1913 in Pleasant Grove, MS, located in Panola County. While he was known to have played local dances and juke joints in the hill country of North Mississippi during the 1940's and 50's, competing with the likes of Fred McDowell, no known recordings of Ranie were made until the 70's and early 80's while he was living in Senatobia. During that time he recorded two sides for a regional 45 single and was later recorded by Leo Bruin, both in Senatobia and during a trip Ranie made to the Netherlands. Some of those recordings appear on the Swingmaster CD Going Down South, along with tracks by harmonica player Johnny Woods and R.L. Burnside, whom Ranie mentored and often played with. Burnette's music, like the aforementioned artists, is strongly rooted in the rhythmic tradition of the fife and drum bands from the region, which you'll hear on this 11-song collection, also recorded by Leo Bruin. Ranie Burnette died in Memphis, TN, on January 23, 2000 and is buried in the cemetery at Ebeneezer Missionary Baptist Church in Como, MS

Disc: 1
1. Cool Black Mattie
2. Lonesome Moon Blues
3. Gone Dead on You
4. Two and Two Blues
5. One String Baby
6. Miss Mabelle
7. Hungry Spell
8. Dough Roller Blues
9. Turn on Down
10. Shake 'Em on Down
11. Yonder Goes My Baby